PDA

View Full Version : The Top Ten Reasons Gaming Was Better in the Early ‘90s.

geogoku
19-05-2008, 22:20
The Top Ten Reasons Gaming Was Better in the Early ‘90s.
How gaming has changed over the last fifteen years.

I've been gaming for nearly 20 years. I can still remember the first time I picked up a controller and played the Nintendo Entertainment System. I was six years old, in a basement while my mother had tea with a friend in the kitchen upstairs. I was told to go downstairs and play the Nintendo while they talked about floral wallpaper or how many spoonfuls to sugar would go into their earl-grey tea, or whatever the hell they might have been talking about.

The first game I put into that old NES was The Simpsons: Bart vs. The Space Mutants. Unfortunately, the game wouldn't boot up, and I was not yet familiar with the "blow-into-the-cartridge-and-slap-the-NES-around" method of gameplay as of yet. Looking back, it sure feels like destiny to me.

Who knows if I would be nearly as involved with my favourite hobby today if I had managed to get that awful Simpsons atrocity to function as my first ever video game. Luckily, the second cartridge I tried worked like a charm.

The game was Super Mario Bros.

I was instantly hooked. Unfolding before my very hands and eyes was the future of entertainment, and the future was bright and exciting. Next thing I knew, hours had passed and it was time to go home. I was literally torn from my new friend kicking and screaming. I clutched the controller in my mini-death-grip until it popped out of the console. Clearly this was not my finest childhood moment. I instantly began begging anyone I could to buy me a Nintendo system, and it was two long years before I had one to call my own.

How times have changed.